If you can't see this e-mail, click here to view it online.


Join us on June 29 to celebrate
the best in Hawaii Journalism in 2017

Excellence in Journalism Awards Dinner
June 29, 2018, 6 p.m.

WHEN: June 29, 2018, at 6 p.m.

> Awards to the best in Hawaii journalism as judged by the Louisville Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists
 > Introduction of 2018 summer interns

Japanese Cultural Center of Hawaii, Manoa Grand Ballroom, 2454 S. Beretania St., fifth floor

$50 for an SPJ member or student, $54 for a nonmember.
Tables of 10 can be purchased for $520.
Parking: $6

RSVP: Call Stirling Morita on Oahu at 347-0388 or email smorita1@twc.com
for reservations.

Send checks payable to Hawaii Chapter SPJ
to Hawaii Chapter SPJ, P.O. Box 3141, Honolulu, HI 96802

Deadline: June 25. No refunds after this time, no shows will be billed.

EMCEES: Howard Dicus and Robbie Dingeman


  • Fried Rice
  • Mixed Greens with Dressings
  • Potato & Macaroni Salad
  • Relish Tray
  • Pasta Salad
  • Fresh Fruits in Season

     ENTREES *
  • Sauteed Mahimahi
  • Chicken Nishime
  • Teriyaki Beef-Steak Cut
  • Vegetable du Jour
  • Rolls with Butter

    * Vegetarian orders: Vegetable Stir Fry or Eggplant Parmesan (Please specify which when RSVPing)

  • Chantilly Cake

  • Fruit Punch & Ice Tea
  • Kona Blend Coffee, Decaffeinated Coffee & Hot Tea

  • Hawaii media organizations select interns

    Wally Zimmermann Broadcast Journalism interns named:
    • Hawaii News Now: Kimi Andrew, Santa Clara University
    • KHON2: Francis Elias Chandler IV (Palakiko), Brigham Young University
    • KITV: Shannon Manamtam, University of Hawaii at Manoa

      Here are more SPJ interns:

    • Honolulu Star-Advertiser: Sarah Domai, University of Southern California
    • Hawaii Business magazine: Darryl Kaneyuki, University of Hawaii at Manoa
    • Hawaii Magazine: Jasmine Bautista, Leeward Community College
    • Honolulu Magazine: Cassidy Keola, Chapman University
    • Pacific Edge magazine: Jasmine Yi, University of Hawaii at Manoa
    • Honolulu Civil Beat: Madison Choi, Chaminade University of Honolulu
    • Alexander & Baldwin: Mika Morii Rawson, University of Hawaii at Manoa
    • Hawaii Public Radio: Harrison Patino, University of Hawaii at Manoa

    Thank you to the judges of Louisville contest

    Hawaii media judged the contest of Louisville, Kentucky, which in turn judged the Hawaii contest. Honolulu Star-Advertiser Managing Editors Betty Shimabukuro and Mike Rovner judged a Hawaii category for magazine overall page design. The Louisville chapter in turn judged the Hawaii contest. Here are the judges:
    • Mokihana Aki
    • Ann Auman
    • Josh Benton
    • Chad Blair
    • Jennifer Brink
    • Catherine Cruz
    • Teresa Dawson
    • Robbie Dingeman
    • Anthony Ferreira
    • Jeff Hawe
    • Martha Hernandez
    • Sean Ibara
    • Lee Imada
    • Nancy Cook Lauer
    • Kristin Lipman
    • Honey Maltin-Wisot
    • Stirling Morita
    • Dennis Oda
    • Cheryl Oncea
    • Brett Oppegaard
    • Steve Petranik
    • Charlene Robinson
    • Brenda Salgado
    • Ben Silva
    • Chris Sugidono
    • David Sur
    • Don Wallace
    • Marisa Yamane
    • Christi Young
    • Lucy Young Oda

      HAWAII CHAPTER SPJ // P.O. BOX 3141 // HONOLULU, HI 96802
      Received this e-mail in error? Click to unsubscribe.